What a year. Here’s to the next one!

28 Jun

With only one more day to go at school this year, I have been dreading writing this post. My contract this year was only a maternity leave coverage and I am so sad to be leaving the school and having to move on. But exciting news is that I have a forever home to move on to. I’ve been given a continuing contract in an elementary school library and I couldn’t be happier (that’s a lie… I would be happier if I could stay right where I am now but since that’s not possible, I couldn’t be happier to go to my new school).

I was considering ending this blog before I knew about this new blessing in my life but now that I have a new library, I can just keep going with it! And the most exciting thing is that the library will be going through a full renovation and I will get to help with the redesign! Be still my beating heart. I have already pinned some images on Pinterest (my latest love). I can’t wait to see how many of these I can get into the new library.

Books don’t grow on trees… or do they?
I love the idea but I’m pretty sure that a wheel on the bottom would be trouble!
Book art. Easy, breezy, beautiful.
Animal space holders for when kids are choosing their books.

So, yes, it’s the end of the year and summer is coming up but I’m not done in the library. There are many more exciting blessings coming in my life and I can’t wait to share them all!

4 Responses to “What a year. Here’s to the next one!”

  1. averageinsuburbia June 30, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    Oh wow! What a jump, from high school to elementary! I will miss your window ideas but maybe you can convince them to include windows such as those in your renovation. Good luck with your new school!

  2. Rebecca June 30, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    I am glad to hear you are going to be in a new library and will still be sharing ideas. I have enjoyed your blog ever since my partner in crime in my library shared the link.

  3. Lisa O'Donoghue October 7, 2013 at 6:05 am #

    Oh My Goodness. I wish I found your blog years ago. You are amazing! Are you still blogging? I would love to continue learning from your amazing ideas. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    • freshlymintedlibrarian October 12, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

      I took a break when I moved libraries and then had a baby. She had a heart defect and almost died. Her story is at http://www.focusingonmiracles.com and I’ve been working on that one… but I’m thinking of bringing this one back. I started working again this year and I’ve done some exciting things that could be worth sharing. Keep your eyes out!

Leave a Reply

