5000 pages to go

25 May

We are almost to the end of the year in the library (insert tear here). Students can only borrow books for another week and then we start book wrangling. I should probably bring back some of the 11 books that I have at home. 

I’ve finally been able to plow through some books and have some great recommendations for my friends and family. If you haven’t read The Help, by Kathryn Stockett, you should treat yourself to this book on the next rainy day. I found it easy to read and engaging which is impressive considering how the story bounces between characters. I will admit that my fascination with this bit of (all too recent) history may have impacted my opinion of the book, but as an enjoyable book, this book is solid!  

Another debut novel that I have recently read and thoroughly enjoyed is Still Alice by Lisa Genova. For a first novel, this one is incredibly well done. Warning: I spent much of the final quarter of the book in tears. The helplessness and progression of early onset Alzheimer’s disease is portrayed in a realistic and dignified way that had me thinking about the book long after I had finished it. That, I believe, is a mark of a good book.

Back to my beloved YA fiction – I have just finished reading City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare. It’s the fourth book in the Mortal Instruments series. I’m a big (closet) fan of the series, but this one, while enjoyable, is too much of a set-up for books five and six. Disappointing, but I know I’ll still be reading the next two. Stupid handsome fallen angels.

A series that I am driving, quilting, running, walking and vacuuming to (don’t worry, I’m listening to it as an audiobook) is the Chaos Walking series by Patrick Ness. This series is exhausting. I have cried (hard) over some of the things that have happened to the characters and been so stressed out through the entire series because the characters are constantly being chased. I still have a ways to go but this series offers up some new ideas to ponder (like being able to hear the “noise” of conscious and subconscious thoughts running through people’s heads – a terrible nightmare for a librarian). Another plus – there are no vampires, zombies or fallen angels (something rare in a YA book series today).

After all of this, I have been inspired. Today I found a great blog called 15,000 Pages which has the blogger setting yearly page goals for how much he or she (?) will read. After reading a book he/she gives the book grades for plot, characters and being a page turner with one final, overall mark.

This would be a great idea for a classroom to have the class set a goal for how many pages they can read in a school year and then blog about their reading. The format is simply enough that it wouldn’t be a chore and it is a good way to record great books (and not so great books).

With summer coming up and the library winding down, I should set a summer page goal. After much consideration, I think 5000 pages would be a realistic goal. This summer, I will read 5000 pages. Anyone else want to join me?

Leave a Reply

