Yes, books were harmed in the making of this display

29 Apr

I will admit, we have heard a few cries of shock over the books that were sacrificed for this window display, but since none of the books had been read in the past decade, I find it hard to feel too upset about it. Especially when the outcome of five measly books being torn apart is something like this that makes a strong statement (also, Perry Mason mysteries don’t have vampires or fallen angels, so teenagers aren’t really gobbling them up).

Oh, the irony. That a book would have to die to create art only suggesting what it used to be. Or something like that. So far, I’ve gotten quite a few compliments on the display. I’ve been asked where I get my inspiration, and, though I have to bite my tongue, I’ve been able to resist blurting out, “I just didn’t want to paint anymore!” I like the way this new display looks, from the outside and the inside. It is visually interesting, while remaining neutral, and symmetrical in nature, both of which agree nicely with my OCD tendencies.

I’m hoping that the law in advertising that the more you see a product, the more you want it, will work in this case. Every time kids walk past, I want the word and the pages to burrow into their brains like parasites causing them to become totally overrun with the desire to open a book. The power of suggestion can be a powerful thing.

2 Responses to “Yes, books were harmed in the making of this display”

  1. Rebecca May 3, 2011 at 5:29 am #

    What a gorgeous display. I do not have a nice wall of windows on my library, but are you going to do a posting with specifics about how you did that? I love the butterflies also and that I could do.

    • freshlymintedlibrarian May 3, 2011 at 10:22 am #

      Thanks for the compliments, Rebecca! I hadn’t planned to write a how-to but you have inspired me. Watch for one later this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

