Sometimes my eyes just glaze over

23 Feb

I’ve been thinking about my reading habits lately – mostly just because I haven’t had much time to read lately and I miss it. Upon reflection, this comment is strange since I read all day every day for the Web 2.0 course that I’m in. I actually spend way too much time on my computer with multiple windows open at all times. I consider myself to have accomplished a large feat when I only have 3 windows open at any given time. So even though I am constantly reading, my reading is different. I find that when I read online I am loath to read a full paragraph. I am easily distracted and forever checking Facebook, Google Reader or the weather forecast.

Reading a book is the opposite of this. I read a book to escape. I can sit for hours curled up on the couch in front of the large picture window in my living room while my dog naps beside me. Or I read while I enjoy a walk (also with my dog).

Last week I put aside some time to enjoy a novel. I have a stack of novels from the library that I keep putting off. So I took a walk and read.

Books I enjoyed:

4 STARS (Open endings kill me!)

3 STARS (Took a long time to get going but has some great language)

4 STARS (Some great quotes and had me thinking about it afterwards)

 

Next on my list are:

I am fascinated by other people's brains and how they work so I am really looking forward to reading this one.

I’m listening to this as an audiobook in my car. It makes driving around the city a lot more bearable.
 
I also have some books that I’ve read that I want to read again. Soon.

 

Leave a Reply

