Love in the library

14 Feb

In this post, I could go into the story about having to ask a young couple to stop making out in the library and then realizing that I taught the girl in grade 4 and wanting to throw up a little…but I won’t. It is Valentine’s Day, which means that I should be thinking about appropriate love in the library. So here are some things that I love about the library that I work in:

1. My library partner in crime, Paula, who keeps the library running, knows every little thing about the library and is always in a fabulous mood (or has an uncanny ability to always seem like she is)

2. The large window that is available for all sorts of fantastical displays, like our current, appropriately-themed display:

3. Having time to find technology that will help the teachers in the school.

4. Being able to make changes in the library to draw kids in. So far this year we’ve put up all new signage, shuffled all of the books, created a bookstore style fiction display, lugged in a couch, and purchased new and hot fiction. It’s been a lot of work but the library has a new vibe. It seems to work because the library is full during every break.

5. The books, purchasing the books and reading the books.

In summary, I love my job this year. I find it challenging and I learn a lot every day. Today (though it is not even a work day) I spent some time on the library site to find the top ten books that have been taken out this year. I do have to add a disclaimer here because many of the young ladies who take books out of the library are still sucked in by vampire boyfriend books, so, while the books may be checked out the most, they are not necessarily the best quality literature.

Top Ten Most Loved and Checked Out Books This Year

  1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  2. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  3. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  4. City of Glass by Cassandra Clare
  5. Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
  6. Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi
  7. Graceling by Kristin Cashore (one of my most favourite YA books!)
  8. The Pact: A Love Story by Jodi Picoult
  9. Uglies by Scott Westerfield
  10. Blood Promise by Richelle Mead (enter vampires)

Not too shabby. I think just over half of the books on that list are pretty good. However, this does encourage me to push some more quality YA literature on them, like Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes or Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson. Those will be going up on the fiction wall as soon as I’m back at school tomorrow…. And perhaps I will be accidentally misplacing Blood Promise for a little while.

4 Responses to “Love in the library”

  1. averageinsuburbia February 15, 2011 at 12:06 am #

    I’m very excited to discover your blog! I am a library assistant in a school library for middle school gifted students. My librarian and I are always on the lookout for interesting library blogs. I’ll be sure to pass this site on to her and you can count me in as a regular reader. You have an awesome Blog!

    • freshlymintedlibrarian February 16, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      Wonderful! I’m so glad that you have found something here that you enjoy. I’m always afraid that it is just a bit average but then maybe that’s why you enjoy it.
      (I must say that it is interesting that you work at a gifted school but have a blog all about being average. Nice juxtaposition.)
      Amanda

  2. Blaire Beathard August 28, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    I love your heart display that you put on the window. How did you go about making that? Did you use real book covers or print them off? Thanks!!

    • freshlymintedlibrarian September 3, 2012 at 8:45 am #

      When I purchase a new book I make a color copy of the cover for our new and hot bulletin board. To make this heart I took all of my unused covers and laid them into color groups. I took two pieces of poster board and drew a huge heart. I started to place the book covers face down around the edge of the heart and I stuck them together with white tack so that they could easily be disassembled and reused.

Leave a Reply

