Take a picture, it’ll last longer.

18 Jan

LIFE and Google have joined forces to create a huge databank of photos organized by decade from the 1750s to the present day (hmm, when were cameras invented?).

 

You can search by topic: people, places, events, sports or culture. For any regular Google search, if you add “source:life” in your search description it will only search the LIFE collection.

Here are a few of my searches:

I am not sure what I was expecting to get with this search but it wasn't hippies on a quilt.

The word "daisy" brought up this picture of Daisy Bates (after scrolling through a page or so of celebrity Daisy's). This would be an interesting way to start a mini-research project.

 

This search engine is an interesting way to challenge the assumptions that are part of our culture. I expected my "shoe" search to give me an image of Jimmy Choo shoes but instead I got this image of the Endicott Johnson Shoe Company. Interesting how I don't associate shoes with the place where they are manufactured.

One Response to “Take a picture, it’ll last longer.”

  1. Alanna January 20, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    The aspiring archivist in me (you know, if I ever get the chance to go back to school) loves this site. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

