Job Description of a School Librarian

5 Nov

The library technician at my school left this on my desk. I must admit, I was a little hurt when I glanced at the title, thinking this was a not-so-subtle hint that I wasn’t doing my job properly or working hard enough, but then she instructed me to read it.

Here is the first section, entitled “Literature Skills”:

“Must have memorized the plots, characters, themes, lengths, reading levels, and controversies of all books in the library as well as every popular new book that comes out. Must be able to produce lost of stolen books out of thin air on demand. Must know the exact volume and page number of every article in all encyclopedias plus Current Biography, and all abstracts. Must be able to help students and teachers extract information from all information sources without actually causing them to read anything. Must be able to identify any book ever published based only on a vague description of the cover art and perhaps equally vague hints of characters or plot.”

And people think our job is easy!

2 Responses to “Job Description of a School Librarian”

  1. Anne Letain December 15, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    Also by the color of the cover!

    • freshlymintedlibrarian December 15, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

      Just yesterday we had it happen again, “Remember that book I was reading?” Actually, no. No, I don’t.

Leave a Reply

