And I get paid to shop…

28 Sep

Last Friday the library technician and I got to use half of our Pro-D day to go book shopping. I had done quite a bit of research and had a list of books that I really wanted to buy. I’m happy to say that I managed to buy those…and many more. I was quite good at sticking to the list until I saw the 50% off section. My resolve crumbled and before I knew it, the cart was stuffed like a sausage about to burst. $583.62 later and laden with two monstrous cardboard boxes, I realized that my passion for books was paying off (for the book store perhaps). I have so many new books for students to read and I know they are chomping at the bit to get their hands on them. For the past two days the books have been sitting on a trolley behind the counter and I think the students are convinced that I am torturing them with the copy of Mockingjay. I have at least one student an hour ask me if he or she can borrow it. Oh, the torture! 

All in all, we bought 60 books to add to the collection.

 

These books are on my "must read" list. There goes my social life.

3 Responses to “And I get paid to shop…”

  1. paola October 1, 2010 at 3:05 am #

    i am seriously jealous that you get paid to shop for books. it’s ridiculous!

  2. Anne Letain October 17, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    Love Laurie Halse Anderson, hated Hugo Cabret. IMO, it’s totally boring – kids din’t like it much either!

    • freshlymintedlibrarian October 27, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

      I just finished Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson on my ipod and I can’t wait to read/listen to another book of hers. I love her writing style; I found it quick witted and thought-provoking.

Leave a Reply

