I love loving my job!

15 Sep

Over the past 6 years as an intermediate teacher, I have become used to feeling a tight ball in my chest. Some would call that feeling anxiety or stress; teachers would call it “normal.” Today, after a fabulous day of decorating the library, pulling resources for teachers, choosing magazine subscriptions and searching for helpful website resources, I realized that the familiar feeling of panic was missing. I frantically checked my “to do” list, thinking that I must have missed something, but no, I had worked my way through most of my to do’s (though, ironically, as I write this I realize that my public library books are now overdue).

Today I learned how to do purchasing for the library. I had visions of sugarbook fairies dancing in my head. It was like Christmas morning. I have started a list of books and DVDs that have been requested and that I think would add to the library collection and next week I am going on my first book shopping excursion. Of course, I have been book shopping before but I’ve always had to face the credit card bill coming at the end of the month.

It has only been a few days and I have learned so much. It is incredibly challenging and I feel stretched and pushed; however, instead of a ball in my chest, there is the feeling that I have been swept into a fairytale.

2 Responses to “I love loving my job!”

  1. Melisa Hunter September 17, 2010 at 2:32 am #

    I feel the same way about my job as TL after 17 years in a grade 5/6 classroom. I love my new job and all of the challenges it brings!

  2. Anne Letain October 17, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    The longer you do the job, the more complex the buying becomes. While it’s fun to go out and buy the books, as time goes by you’ll realize that you will need multiple approaches for this, depending on both your budget and your evolving library.

Leave a Reply

