My Library Pants

10 Sep

Last year I realized that my pants no longer fit. The ones with stretchy, elastic waistbands were still okay, but anything with a zipper and a button was totally off limits. When I decided to remedy that by training for a sprint triathlon I had a passing thought… “Maybe I should write down where I am now so that I can see how far I come.” That thought was likely followed by the realization that Grey’s Anatomy was on TV and nothing came of me recording my progress. Now, already training for next year’s sprint triathlon, I know that my health has significantly improved but I have no concrete information to reminisce about. But this will be different.

I have been a librarian for, count it, 3 days now. One of those days I wasn’t even in the library. So, I guess, technically, I have been a librarian for 2 days. Each time I think about being a librarian I am:

a) excited 

b) perplexed

c) scared to death

d) all of the above

On my first day I walked in and asked the library technician what my job is. While she is showing me a lot about how the library works I am still overwhelmed with how much I don’t know. This concerns me. I am not used to not being an expert at something. My borderline OCD makes it easy for me to pick up an interest, a job or a hobby and quickly become very good at it because I will eat, sleep and breathe that subject. However, in this instance I am afraid that no matter how many meals, naps and meditative deep breathing sessions I partake in, I will never be an expert.

My initial thoughts on the library are that it is always changing. Even more remarkably, the changes in the library seem to be even more rapid than the changes in a classroom setting. There is the constant introduction of new learning materials, fresh resources, cutting edge technology, outdated information, changing demands and imposed limitations. With the cutbacks to library programs there is a lot of uncertainty about the role of the teacher librarian and many questions about how to remain an integral component of a healthy school community.

However, I do know one thing; the excitement that I feel when I am surrounded by the books has remained the same. The ability to touch the spines, inspect the covers, fan through the pages and lose myself in the written words is the same today as it was 25 years ago.

I have a library. My dreams for my library are big; so big that it seems overwhelming. But I will take it one day at a time. Right now I can’t do my proverbial “library pants” up. The zipper is sticking and the button isn’t even close to squeezing its way into the button hole. This time, I am recording the beginning of my journey. I don’t know what it will be like, but I do know that my library pants will look awesome when I can finally fit them on.

2 Responses to “My Library Pants”

  1. Carey September 16, 2010 at 10:12 pm #

    Congratulations on your new position. I am certain with your enthusiasm you will do a fabulous job!! An don’t worry about the pants, with hard work, the button will just slip into place.

  2. Melisa Hunter September 17, 2010 at 2:31 am #

    What a great analogy!

Leave a Reply

